Aldi Gardenline Wood Fired Pizza Oven (2026): Specialbuy Guide, Availability and Honest Comparison
Aldi's wood fired pizza oven is a seasonal Specialbuy — here's what it costs, when it returns, whether you can legally burn wood in your garden, and how…
Aldi Gardenline Wood Fired Pizza Oven (2026): Specialbuy Guide, Availability and Honest Comparison
Affiliate disclosure: this page contains links to retailers. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our editorial assessment.
Last updated: June 2026. Prices and availability change frequently; treat all figures as approximations and verify before purchasing.
By the Outdoor Living desk — covering UK garden retail and Specialbuys.
Aldi’s wood fired pizza oven is one of the most searched-for Specialbuys of the British garden season. It appears in the middle aisle — badged under Aldi’s Gardenline outdoor range — then sells through quickly and disappears. Aldi promotes it as a while-stocks-last offer; availability varies by store and year, and some years Aldi has skipped the category entirely in favour of gas grills and fire pits.
This guide pulls together Aldi’s own archived product listings, manufacturer specifications, named expert sources, and aggregated owner feedback from UK forums to answer the question that actually matters: is it worth hunting down, or should you spend a little more on something you can actually buy today?
Availability and Price — What We Know for 2026
The honest position: Aldi has not confirmed a 2026 wood fired pizza oven Specialbuy at the time this page was last updated (June 2026). The sections below draw on archived Aldi leaflets and product pages from previous years (accessible via the Wayback Machine at web.archive.org, searching “aldi.co.uk pizza oven”) to give the most accurate picture of what to expect.
If you are reading this and the oven is currently listed, Aldi’s own product page at aldi.co.uk/specialbuys is the only authoritative source for the current price, dimensions and fuel type.
When it historically lands
Based on archived Aldi UK Specialbuys leaflets:
- Spring window (March–April): the most common appearance, coinciding with Aldi’s broader garden furniture and barbecue push.
- Summer window (June–July): a secondary window in some years, often a different SKU or colourway.
- No appearance: some years (verifiably, based on archived leaflets) the category is absent entirely.
Aldi does not restock Specialbuys once a line sells through. The stock checker on aldi.co.uk covers some Specialbuys but coverage is inconsistent — checking in-store is often more reliable than checking online. Aldi’s own guidance states that Specialbuys are “available while stocks last” and are not subject to the same availability guarantees as its permanent range.
What it has cost in previous years
Archived Aldi listings and coverage in the UK consumer press (including Which? and The Guardian’s Specialbuys round-ups) place previous Gardenline pizza oven prices at around £80 to £150, depending on the model year and specification. The tabletop wood-burning variants have generally sat at the lower end; larger, free-standing models have reached the higher end. Treat these as a guide only — the 2026 price, if it appears, will be stated on Aldi’s own listing.
Sold out? The resale market
When Aldi’s pizza oven sells out, it reliably appears on eBay and Facebook Marketplace, typically at a markup of around 20–50% above the original Specialbuy price. At that point, the value case largely disappears — a secondhand Aldi oven at around £180 is competing directly with new budget ovens from La Hacienda, VonHaus and Dellonda that carry a full warranty and accessible spare parts. See the comparison table below.
Before You Buy: Can You Legally Burn Wood in Your Garden?
This is the section most competing pages omit, and it is genuinely important.
Smoke Control Areas
Much of urban and suburban England is designated a Smoke Control Area under the Clean Air Act 1993. In a Smoke Control Area, burning wood in an appliance that is not “exempt” — i.e., not on the Defra-approved list of exempt appliances — is a criminal offence carrying a fine of up to £1,000. The Aldi Gardenline pizza oven has not appeared on Defra’s list of exempt appliances in any year reviewed.
Check whether your postcode is in a Smoke Control Area using the gov.uk/smoke-control-areas lookup tool. If it is, a wood-burning pizza oven is not a legal option for you without an exempt appliance.
Ready to Burn fuel
If you are outside a Smoke Control Area, the fuel you use still matters. Since 2021, Defra’s Ready to Burn scheme (gov.uk/guidance/ready-to-burn) requires that bagged wood sold in volumes under 2m³ must be certified as having moisture content below 20%. Burning wet or unseasoned wood produces significantly more smoke and particulates, and will also reduce your oven’s performance. Look for the Ready to Burn logo on any kiln-dried hardwood or wood pellets you buy.
Placement and safety
- Never operate a wood-burning pizza oven on a timber deck, under a gazebo, awning or pergola, or near a fence.
- Carbon monoxide is a risk with any combustion appliance; never use indoors or in any enclosed or semi-enclosed space.
- Clearance from combustible structures: follow the specific distances stated in Aldi’s own product manual. In the absence of that figure, the Solid Fuel Association recommends a minimum of 1 metre from any combustible surface as a baseline for outdoor appliances.
Model Identification: What Aldi Has Actually Sold
“The exact model changes from year to year” is not a licence to stay vague — here is what archived sources show:
| Year | Branding | Format | Approximate price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | Gardenline | Tabletop wood-burning oven | Around £80 | Archived Aldi UK leaflet, Wayback Machine |
| 2023 | Gardenline | Tabletop, updated chimney design | Around £100 | Archived Aldi UK product page; covered in The Sun Specialbuys round-up, April 2023 |
| 2024 | Gardenline | Tabletop wood/pellet hybrid | Around £120–£130 | Archived Aldi UK product page; referenced in MoneySavingExpert forum thread, May 2024 |
| 2025 | Not listed | Category absent | — | Archived Aldi UK Specialbuys leaflets, spring and summer windows |
| 2026 | Not confirmed at time of writing | — | — | — |
The specs and owner feedback cited in this guide refer primarily to the 2023 and 2024 Gardenline variants, as these are the most documented. Where a detail applies only to one year, this is stated.
Aldi Gardenline Pizza Oven: Spec Block
The following is drawn from Aldi’s own archived product listings. Where Aldi’s listing does not state a value, this is noted explicitly.
| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Branding | Gardenline | Aldi UK product listing |
| Format | Tabletop wood-burning oven | Aldi UK product listing |
| Pizza stone | Listed as included; material not stated by Aldi in archived listings | Aldi UK product listing |
| Stone / cooking area diameter | Approximately 30–32 cm (2023–2024 variants) | Aldi UK archived product pages |
| Maximum pizza size | Approximately 30 cm (around 12 inches) | Aldi UK archived product pages |
| Fuel type | Kiln-dried hardwood logs or wood pellets (varies by model year; check current listing) | Aldi UK product listing |
| Stated peak temperature | Not stated in Aldi’s archived listings for 2023–2024 variants | — |
| Weight | Not stated by Aldi in archived listings | — |
| Dimensions (assembled) | Not stated by Aldi in archived listings | — |
| Chimney / vent | Included; number of sections not stated | Aldi UK product listing |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty per Aldi’s standard Specialbuy terms (see Aldi UK T&Cs) | Aldi.co.uk terms and conditions |
| Returns | 60-day returns under Aldi’s Specialbuy policy | Aldi.co.uk returns policy |
Note on the warranty: Aldi’s standard Specialbuy warranty, as stated on aldi.co.uk, is 3 years. This is the same headline term as Ooni’s warranty on the Karu 12 (3 years, per Ooni’s own warranty page at ooni.com/pages/warranty). The practical difference is in what support looks like in year two or three: Ooni maintains a dedicated spare parts catalogue and UK support line; Aldi’s Specialbuy support routes through a general customer service team with no dedicated parts supply. Gozney offers a 2-year warranty on the Roccbox (per Gozney’s warranty page at gozney.com).
Aldi vs Budget Rivals vs Ooni vs Gozney: Full Comparison
All RRPs are attributed to the manufacturer’s or retailer’s own UK product pages. “Around” figures reflect typical street pricing based on published retailer listings; retail prices shift and should be verified before purchase.
| Aldi Gardenline | La Hacienda Fiesta | VonHaus Pizza Oven | Ooni Karu 12 | Ooni Fyra 12 | Gozney Roccbox | Ninja Woodfire Pizza Oven | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fuel | Wood logs / pellets (varies by year) | Wood / charcoal | Wood / charcoal | Wood, charcoal or gas (gas burner sold separately) | Wood pellets only | Wood or gas | Electric; wood pellets for smoke flavour only |
| Approximate price | Around £80–£130 (Specialbuy; verify on aldi.co.uk) | Around £100–£150 (La Hacienda RRP, verified at lahacienda.co.uk) | Around £100–£160 (VonHaus RRP, verified at vonhaus.com) | Around £299 (Ooni UK RRP, ooni.com, June 2026) | Around £249 (Ooni UK RRP, ooni.com, June 2026) | Around £449 (Gozney UK RRP, gozney.com, June 2026) | Around £349–£399 (Ninja UK RRP, ninjakitchen.co.uk; verify as range varies by retailer) |
| Max pizza size | ~30 cm / ~12 in (Aldi archived listing) | ~30 cm / ~12 in (La Hacienda spec) | ~30 cm / ~12 in (VonHaus spec) | 30 cm / 12 in (Ooni spec, ooni.com) | 30 cm / 12 in (Ooni spec, ooni.com) | 30 cm / 12 in (Gozney spec, gozney.com) | ~30 cm / ~12 in (Ninja spec, ninjakitchen.co.uk) |
| Stated peak temp | Not stated in Aldi listings | Not stated in La Hacienda listings reviewed | Not stated in VonHaus listings reviewed | 500°C (Ooni, ooni.com) | 500°C (Ooni, ooni.com) | 500°C (Gozney, gozney.com) | Not comparable — electric element |
| Warranty | 3 years (Aldi T&Cs) | 2 years (La Hacienda T&Cs) | 2 years (VonHaus T&Cs) | 3 years (Ooni warranty page) | 3 years (Ooni warranty page) | 2 years (Gozney warranty page) | 1 year (Ninja UK T&Cs) |
| Spare parts | Not available through Aldi after sell-through | Limited | Limited | Full catalogue (ooni.com/collections/accessories) | Full catalogue | Full catalogue (gozney.com) | Available via Ninja |
| Portability | Light, tabletop | Light, tabletop | Light, tabletop | Light, portable (~12 kg per Ooni spec) | Light, portable (~10 kg per Ooni spec) | Heavy (~20 kg per Gozney spec) | Bulky; requires mains socket |
| Smoke Control Area compatible | No | No | No | No (wood/charcoal mode); gas mode may qualify — check Defra exempt list | No | Gas mode may qualify — check Defra exempt list | Yes (electric; no open flame) |
| Best for | Occasional garden pizzas on a tight budget, if you catch it in stock | Budget buyers who need it available now | Budget buyers who need it available now | Multi-fuel flexibility with strong support | Wood-pellet convenience | Consistent high-heat results | Smoke flavour without open flame; suitable for smoke control areas |
On the Ninja Woodfire Pizza Oven: Ninja’s official UK product name is the Ninja Woodfire Outdoor Pizza Oven OO101UK (verified at ninjakitchen.co.uk). It is an electric resistance oven; the wood pellet function adds smoke flavour only and does not contribute meaningfully to heat output. This is not a like-for-like comparison with a wood-fired oven, but it is the most common cross-shop for buyers who want smoke flavour without an open flame — particularly relevant in smoke control areas.
Wood vs gas at this budget
For buyers who cannot find the Aldi oven in stock, a budget gas pizza oven is worth considering. Gas ovens at around £150–£200 (from brands including Dellonda and Callow, verified on Amazon UK) heat more consistently than wood-burning ovens at the same price point, are simpler to operate in variable UK weather, and are not subject to Smoke Control Area restrictions. The trade-off is that they do not produce the same wood-smoke flavour profile. Running costs for gas versus wood are broadly comparable at this scale, but gas gives more controllable results — a point made consistently by outdoor cooking writers including those at BBC Good Food and Olive magazine in their budget pizza oven round-ups.
Stated Specs, Temperatures and What Owners Report
Temperatures and bake times
Aldi’s archived listings for the 2023 and 2024 Gardenline variants do not state a peak temperature. For context: Ooni states 500°C for both the Karu 12 and Fyra 12 (ooni.com); Gozney states 500°C for the Roccbox (gozney.com). These are stone temperatures at the centre of the cooking surface, measured by the manufacturer under controlled conditions.
Owner feedback aggregated from the MoneySavingExpert forums and the r/Pizza and r/CampingandHiking UK communities indicates that the Gardenline oven reaches adequate temperatures for a 2–3 minute bake — slower than Ooni’s stated 60-second capability, but sufficient for a home pizza with a properly preheated stone and dry fuel. Owners consistently report that fuel quality is the single biggest variable: kiln-dried hardwood certified under the Ready to Burn scheme produces noticeably better results than damp or mixed fuel.
Pizza stone material
Aldi’s listings do not state the stone material. Ooni specifies cordierite for its Karu 12 and Fyra 12 stones (ooni.com/pages/pizza-stones). Gozney specifies a cordierite stone for the Roccbox (gozney.com). The Aldi listing’s silence on this point is worth noting — it is not possible to confirm the stone’s heat retention or thermal shock resistance from the available documentation.
Stone dimensions vs pizza diameter
The cooking area on the 2023–2024 Gardenline variants is listed at approximately 30–32 cm in diameter (Aldi archived product pages). This is the stone diameter, not the usable pizza diameter — you need clearance for a peel and for the pizza to rotate, so the practical maximum pizza diameter is closer to 28–30 cm (approximately 11–12 inches). This matches Ooni’s and Gozney’s stated 12-inch maximum, which also refers to stone size rather than usable diameter.
Who Should and Shouldn’t Buy the Aldi Oven
Buy it if:
- You find it at the Specialbuy price (around £80–£130) and you’re happy with a lightweight, occasional-use oven
- You have outdoor space, are outside a Smoke Control Area, and can source Ready to Burn certified fuel
- You want to try wood-fired pizza before committing to an Ooni or Gozney
- You’re not relying on it for a specific date — you’re buying opportunistically
Don’t buy it if:
- You live in a Smoke Control Area (check gov.uk/smoke-control-areas) — burning wood in a non-exempt appliance is illegal
- You’re a renter without a permanent outdoor space
- You need it for a specific occasion — Specialbuy availability cannot be planned around
- You want to cook pizza regularly and consistently — the Ooni Karu 12 (around £299 at Ooni’s own RRP) is a more reliable long-term choice
- You’re finding it on eBay at a significant markup — at around £180 or more secondhand, the value case is gone
- You live in a flat or have no outdoor space
Warranty, Returns and After-Sales Support
As noted in the spec block: Aldi’s standard Specialbuy warranty is 3 years, per Aldi’s own T&Cs at aldi.co.uk. Returns are accepted within 60 days under Aldi’s Specialbuy returns policy. These are better headline terms than some buyers expect.
The practical limitation is parts and support after the product line is discontinued. Aldi’s customer service team handles Specialbuy warranty claims centrally, but there is no dedicated parts catalogue — if the pizza stone cracks, sourcing a replacement requires finding a compatible aftermarket stone (typically a 30–32 cm cordierite disc, available from kitchenware retailers). Ooni and Gozney both maintain active spare parts catalogues and dedicated customer support teams, which is a meaningful differentiator for anyone planning to use their oven regularly over several years.
Can’t Find It in Stock? Next Steps
If the Aldi oven is sold out:
-
Budget tier (around £100–£160): La Hacienda and VonHaus both offer wood-burning tabletop ovens at comparable prices, available through Amazon UK and independent garden retailers. Both carry a 2-year warranty and have more accessible spare parts than a discontinued Specialbuy.
-
Step up (around £249): The Ooni Fyra 12 (Ooni UK RRP, ooni.com) runs on wood pellets, heats to a stated 500°C, and comes with a 3-year warranty and full accessories catalogue. It is a significant jump in price but a much more capable and supportable oven.
-
Best all-round (around £299): The Ooni Karu 12 (Ooni UK RRP, ooni.com) adds multi-fuel capability — wood, charcoal or gas with an optional gas burner — and is the most frequently recommended upgrade in UK outdoor cooking communities.
-
Resale market: If you specifically want the Gardenline oven, check eBay and Facebook Marketplace — but factor the markup into your decision. Above around £150–£160, you are paying a premium for a discontinued product with no manufacturer support.
-
Lidl: Lidl’s Parkside and Crofton ranges have included outdoor cooking equipment in some years. Check Lidl’s current Specialbuys at lidl.co.uk — we are not able to confirm a specific pizza oven SKU without a current listing, and would not want to name a product that may not exist in the current cycle.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is the Aldi wood fired pizza oven? Based on archived Aldi UK product listings, previous Gardenline pizza oven Specialbuys have been priced at around £80 to £130, depending on the model year. The 2026 price has not been confirmed at the time of writing. Check aldi.co.uk/specialbuys for the current listing.
When does Aldi’s pizza oven come back in stock? Archived Aldi UK leaflets show the oven has most commonly appeared in the spring Specialbuys window (March–April), with a secondary summer window in some years. Aldi does not restock Specialbuys once sold through, and the category has been absent in some years. There is no confirmed 2026 appearance at the time of writing.
Does it run on wood pellets or logs? This varies by model year. The 2023 Gardenline variant was designed for kiln-dried hardwood logs; the 2024 variant was listed as compatible with both logs and wood pellets. Check the specific listing for the current year’s model. In all cases, Defra’s Ready to Burn scheme (gov.uk/guidance/ready-to-burn) recommends fuel with moisture content below 20%.
What is Aldi’s warranty on Specialbuys? Aldi’s standard Specialbuy warranty is 3 years, per Aldi’s own T&Cs at aldi.co.uk. Returns are accepted within 60 days.
Is it as good as an Ooni? On stated specifications, no. Ooni states a peak stone temperature of 500°C for both the Karu 12 and Fyra 12 (ooni.com); Aldi’s archived listings do not state a peak temperature. Ooni offers a full spare parts catalogue, dedicated support, and a wide accessories range. The Aldi oven costs significantly less — around £80–£130 versus Ooni’s RRP of around £249–£299 — and owner feedback from UK forums suggests it is capable of producing good pizza results with quality fuel, but it is a more variable, less supported product. For occasional use on a tight budget, it represents fair value if bought at the Specialbuy price. For regular use, the Ooni is the stronger long-term choice.
Can I use it in a smoke control area? No. The Aldi Gardenline pizza oven does not appear on Defra’s list of exempt appliances for use in Smoke Control Areas. Burning wood in a non-exempt appliance in a designated Smoke Control Area is an offence under the Clean Air Act 1993, carrying a fine of up to £1,000. Check your postcode at gov.uk/smoke-control-areas. If you are in a smoke control area and want a pizza oven, the Ninja Woodfire Outdoor Pizza Oven OO101UK (electric, no open flame) is the only product in this comparison that is suitable.
Sources
- Aldi UK product listings and leaflets (archived): web.archive.org — search “aldi.co.uk Gardenline pizza oven” for 2022, 2023 and 2024 snapshots
- Aldi UK T&Cs and returns policy: aldi.co.uk (warranty and returns sections, checked June 2026)
- Ooni UK product pages and warranty: ooni.com/collections/pizza-ovens and ooni.com/pages/warranty (checked June 2026)
- Gozney UK product pages and warranty: gozney.com (checked June 2026)
- Ninja UK product page: ninjakitchen.co.uk — Ninja Woodfire Outdoor Pizza Oven OO101UK (checked June 2026)
- La Hacienda: lahacienda.co.uk (checked June 2026)
- VonHaus: vonhaus.com (checked June 2026)
- Defra Ready to Burn scheme: gov.uk/guidance/ready-to-burn
- Smoke Control Areas lookup: gov.uk/smoke-control-areas
- Clean Air Act 1993: legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1993/11
- MoneySavingExpert forum: moneysavingexpert.com/forum — aggregated owner discussion threads, 2023–2024
- Solid Fuel Association guidance on outdoor appliance clearances: solidfuel.co.uk
- BBC Good Food and Olive magazine pizza oven round-ups: referenced for gas vs wood running-cost context


